Nasser Al-Atiyah won the third stage (Pisco-Nazca) of the Dakar Rally after a very strong performance by the Qatari.

The Qatar Red Bull driver edged out former team-mate Robby Gordon (Hummer) by one minute 18 seconds.

Overall leader Stephane Peterhansel came in third, 3mins 52secs adrift followed by Lucio Alvarez (Toyota).

In the bikes, Cyril Despres took the overall lead ahead of Francisco Lopez and Pal Ullevalseter.