Donegal cousins, Declan and Brian Boyle, in a Subaru WRC, have won the Dunlop National Rally Championship, courtesy of their victory in the Sepam Tipperary Stonethrowers Rally, round six of the eight round series.

They finished the Clonmel-based nine-stage rally a minute and 57 seconds ahead of the MG S2000 of Roy White and James O’Brien.

Welsh crew James Belton and Mark Glennerster in a Subaru WRC were third.

Daragh O’Riordan/Tony McDaid (Ford Fiesta WRC) led initially - quickest on the opening three stages – they were 9.7 seconds in front of the Boyle duo, whose Dunlop title rivals, Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Subaru WRC) crashed out on the third stage.

However, on SS 4, O’Riordan’s rally ended after he slid off on gravel and broke a track control arm.

The Boyle cousins inherited the lead and with as string of fastest stage times went on to take their fifth win of the Dunlop season to clinch the Vard Memorial Trophy.

In Group N, Monaghan’s, Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly took the spoils from Josh Moffett/John Rowan, both in Mitsubishi Evo IX’s.

The top Modified crew was that of Donegal’s, Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore (Toyota Starlet).