Hugh Hunter took an impressive victory in the Carlton Shearwater Galway Summer Rally in Ballinasloe, the penultimate round of the Dunlop National Rally Championship.

The Welsh driver finished the nine-stage rally with a winning margin of one minute and 11.5 seconds over the Subaru WRC of Welsh rivals, James Belton.

Daragh O’Riordan was third in the Ford Fiesta WRC, eleven seconds further behind.

Results from Ballinasloe

1. H. Hunter/A. Marchbank (Subaru WRC) 59m. 53.6s.

2. J. Belton/M. Glennerster (Subaru WRC) 1h. 01m. 05.1s.

3. D. O'Riordan/T. McDaid (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1h. 01m. 16.1s.

4. D. Gallagher/R. Moore (Toyota Starlet) 1h. 01m. 18.1s.

5. J. Pringle/M. Byrne (Ford Escort) 1h. 01m. 35.7s.

6. F. Kelly/R. Harold (Ford Escort) 1h. 01m. 51.6s.

7. K. Barrett/S. Mullally (Subaru WRC) 1h. 01m. 58.6s.

8. J. Moffett/J. Rowan (Mitsubishi EvoIX)1h. 02m. 23.1s

9. S. Wright/S. Wright (Mitsubishi EvoIX) 1h. 02m. 33.3s.

10. M. Moffett/J. McKenna (Toyota Starlet) 1h. 03. 41.7s.

Dunlop National Rally Championship - After Round

1. D. Boyle 112pts (Dunlop National Rally Champion);

2. J. Belton 98pts.

3. J. Moffett 76 pts.

4. R. White 72pts.

5. S. Moffett 70pts.

6. N. Maguire 66pts.

7. D. Gallagher 57pts.

8. J. Pringle 48pts.

9. S. Wright 42 pts.