The opening round of the Dunlop National Rally Championship, the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel Rally has resulted in victory for Donegal’s Declan and Brian Boyle (Subaru WRC).

They finished 34.8 seconds ahead of the similar Subaru of Welsh driver Mel Evans and his Limerick co-driver Sean Mullally.

Wexford’s, James Stafford andAmy Ryan in a Darrian T90 were 19.1 seconds further behind in third.

The Group N category was won by Monaghan’s, Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly, they finished 11.3 seconds in front of the similar car of Josh Moffett/John Rowan.