Cork driver Brian O’Mahony (Subaru WRC) and his Mayo co-driver John Higgins took their first ever victory in a round of the Dunlop National Rally Championship on the Tullow based Mount Wolseley Hotel Carlow Rally, round four of the national series.

After an exciting duel with Dunlop Championship leaders, Thomas Fitzmaurice/Fionn Foley (Subaru WRC), the Cork/Mayo duo emerged victorious by 14 seconds. Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Subaru WRC) were third – just three seconds further behind.

Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Subaru WRC) retired during the second loop.

The Modified category was won by Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan (Ford Escort) and Colm Murphy/Don Montgomery (Subaru) took a convincing victory in the Group N showroom category.