Kerry ended Cork’s hopes of ten-in-a-row in Munster with a sensational victory in Saturday's TG4 Senior Football Championship final in Castletownroche.

The Kingdom were crowned Munster champions after scoring a 1-16 to 1-15 victory over the All-Ireland champions.

It was Kerry’s second victory over Cork in this summer’s championship, after they won by 3-10 to 3-8 in the first round.

Cork had the chance to equalise at the death but Geraldine O’Flynn’s free bounced agonisingly off the upright and William O’Sullivan’s Kerry survived to book their place in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Cork must regroup through the qualifiers in their quest for a third successive All-Ireland crown and other would-be challengers now realise that the Rebelettes are beatable.

Kerry started well and were 0-7 to 0-5 clear after 20 minutes, before Cork missed a host of chances.

At half-time, a point from Orla Finn brought the Leesiders to within touching distance, as they trailed by 0-6 to 0-7.

The sides were neck and neck during the early second half exchanges before Briege Corkery netted for Cork.

But Kerry went ahead again when Patrice Dennehy netted and they would hold out for a famous win.

In Leinster, meanwhile, Dublin retained their provincial crown with a comfortable 3-14 to 0-9 victory over Meath, in what was a repeat of last year’s final.

Noelle Healy won the player of the match award for Dublin as the Jackies produced a strong second half performance to retain the provincial silverware.

Lindsey Peat scored two first half goals for Dublin as they led by 2-6 to 0-6 at half-time.

And Sinead Aherne put the icing on the cake with a third goal for the Metropolitans in the second half.