Shane Lowry has been awarded the Golfer of the Year award, edging the victorious European Solheim Cup team to the coveted title.

The Offaly native secured this year's Open Championship at Royal Portrush and was duly recognised by the Association of Golf Writers.

Lowry secured this year's title with just a handful of votes to spare ahead of Catriona Matthew's side who recorded a remarkable victory over the USA at Gleneagles.

"It is a huge personal honour for me to be voted as the 2019 Golfer of the Year by the Association of Golf Writers and it's many members around the world," said Lowry.

"To be chosen by the men and women who report on our game across the globe on a weekly basis is very special and it’s an honour to join the illustrious names on the Golf Writers Trophy, which includes many multiple major winners and Ryder Cup captains.

'"I very much look forward to celebrating this award with all of the golf writers at the annual AGW dinner at Royal St George’s ahead of my Open Championship defence next summer."

The award is open to any golfer or golfers born in Europe and is voted on by members of the association who have offer three preferences.