Monaghan advanced to the last four of the All-Ireland Ladies Football Championship with a ruthless 4-21 to 0-04 demolition of a disappointing Laois at Breffni Park.

Gregory McGonigle's side were simply devastating in the first half.

With the speedy Ciara McAnespie and Caoimhe Mohan isolated inside, they tore Laois - who didn't score until the 29th minute of the half - apart.

By the time the O'Moore ladies had registered a score, Monaghan were 15 points to the good and dominant in every position on the field.

The Farney management, which includes Seamus 'Banty' McEnaney, whose daughter Laura played wing-back, had their charges primed and they looked razor sharp.

They were 0-02 to 0-00 up within 90 seconds after scores from Cathriona McConnell (free) and Cora Courtney and when Mohan, who was in electrifying form, registered her first score moments later, the writing was on the wall.

Another from Courtney was followed by a fantastic goal from Mohan in the 11th minute to make it 1-04 to 0-00, and Laois's cause wasn't helped when captain Maggie Murphy was sin-binned shortly afterwards.

By the time the Timahoe player returned, her side were a dozen points in arrears after points from McAnespie and McConnell (two) and a cracking goal from Mohan. They created several more goal chances in that opening half too, hitting the bar on one occasion and seeing Ciamh Dollard produce a couple of excellent stops.

Further scores from Courtney and Mohan opened a 2-09 to 0-00 lead and although Laois got off the mark with a Tracey Lawlor free, McConnell had the last score of the half with one of her own.

Laois sub Clodagh Dunne was also yellow-carded on the stroke of half-time, which didn't help as the second half turned into a procession.

Monaghan kicked scores from all angles and added two more goals from Courtney in the 40th minute and sub Yvonne Connell as they overwhelmed their rivals with an astonishing display of attacking football.

Scorers for Monaghan: C Mohan 2-06, C McConnell 0-09 (2f), C Courtney 1-04, Y Connell 1-00, C McAnespie 0-02

Scorers for Laois: T Lawlor 0-03 (2f), M Dunne 0-01

Monaghan: L Martin, G McNally, S Courtney, C Reilly, L McEnaney, A Casey, A McAnespie, E McKenna, E McCarron, T McNally, C Mohan, C Courtney, C McConnell, N Kindlon, C McAnespie

Subs: Y Connell for N Kindlon, E McElroy for E McKenna, M Atkinson for A McAnespie, L Boylan for C Mohan

Laois: C Dollard, G Dunne, A Quigley, E Healy, LM Maher, A Taylor, M Kirwan, J Moore, A Moore, T Lawlor, N Kirwan, M Murphy, C Burke, M Dunne, S Quigley

Subs: S Doogue for N Kirwan, M McEvoy for S Quigley, E McWey for C Burke, M O'Grady for M Kirwan