Na Piarsaigh (Limerick) 4-14 Sixmilebridge 0-08

Updated: Tuesday, 26 Nov 2013 11:36 | Comments

Brian Carey of Sixmilebridge and Na Piarsaigh's David Dempsey in action at Cusack Park
Brian Carey of Sixmilebridge and Na Piarsaigh's David Dempsey in action at Cusack Park


Na Piarsaigh picked up their second Munster senior hurling title in three years after a dominant display gave them a 4-14 to 0-8 win over Sixmilebridge at Cusack Park.

Two goals in the first minute of each half from Kevin Downes and Kevin Ryan meant the Clare champions were rattled from the off, but the win was secured 15 minutes from time when Adrian Breen hit a third goal for Na Piarsaigh.

And substitute David Sheppard put the gloss on the win with a fourth goal for the Limerick city side when he robbed Sixmilebridge goalkeeper Derek Fahy a minute from time.

Within the first minute the Limerick men had taken a significant stranglehold on this tie when Downes charged into space vacated by Shane Dowling and was then picked out by the full-forward before he rattled the net with a low shot.

It took the Clare champions six minutes to find the target before Kevin Lynch got Sixmilebridge on the scoreboard when he drilled over a sweet point from the left.

But Na Piarsaigh were in flying form and between the tenth and 15th minutes they tagged on four unanswered points, with Adrian Breen, David Dempsey and Pat Gleeson all finding their range after a Dowling free.

Dowling was proving a real thorn in the Sixmilebridge side and after a foul on Downes in the 20th minute, he landed a huge free from halfway that gave his side a 1-5 to 0-1 advantage.

But with veteran Niall Gilligan becoming a more influential figure, the east Clare side began to impact the game and after Shane Golden split the posts on the turn, Gilligan hit a free from distance to put five between the sides.

However, it seemed easy for Na Piarsaigh to respond and two quick points from Dowling and Adrian Breen gave the Caherdavin men a 1-8 to 0-5 lead at the break.

And 39 seconds after the restart Na Piarsaigh wrapped up the win when Ryan hit the net and moments later Alan Dempsey's point rocked the Clare men back on their heels again.

A Caimin Morey long-range free steadied the Sixmilebridge charges, but further goals in the closing stages from Breen and Sheppard just underlined Na Piarsaigh's superiority.

Na Piarsaigh: P Kennedy; K Breen, C King, M Casey; N Buckley, D Breen, J O'Brien; A Dempsey (0-02), P Gleeson (0-01); W O'Donoghue, K Downes (1-00), D Dempsey (0-01); K Ryan (1-03), S Dowling (0-05, 0-04f), A Breen (1-02).
Subs: K Kennedy for Buckley (43 mins), J Madden for Dempsey (49), D Sheppard (1-00) for A Breen (56), B Hartnett for O'Brien (59), D Quigley for Downes (59).

Sixmilebridge: D Fahy; A Quilligan, N Purcell, B Carey; P Fitzgerald, C Morey (0-01, 0-01f), J Fennessy; K Lynch (0-01), S Morey; J Shanahan (0-01, 0-01f), S Golden (0-02), R Shanahan; P Sheehan, N Gilligan (0-03, 0-03f), A Mulready.
Subs: C Deasy for Mulready (41 mins), S O'Sullivan for Sheehan (49).

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use