All-Ireland U-21 champions Clare make up the bulk of this year's Bord Gáis Energy Under-21 Hurling team of the year.

The Banner County lead the way with eight players in a year that witnessed the county claim All-Ireland senior glory in addition to their third U-21 crown in five years.

Ronan Taffe has been selected as goalkeeper after a successful year that saw the Tubber clubman concede only two goals throughout the entire Championship.

Clare captain Paul Flanagan is joined by team-mates David McInerney in the full-back line while Seadna Morey has been selected at right-half back and St Josephs/Doora Barefield's Alan O'Neill awarded the centre-back position.

Completing the positions in defence are Kilkenny's Brian Kennedy at left-corner back, and Waterford's Ray Barry who has been awarded the left-half back position.  

In midfield, Clare's Colm Galvin and Wexford's Lee Chin have been nominated at number eight and nine respectively.

Tony Kelly is named at right-half forward, and Padraic Collins at centre forward. These two are joined in the half forward line by Antrim's Stephen McAfee.

McAfee's Antrim team-mate Ciaran Clarke, whose free taking capabilities were pivotal in getting the Saffrons to their first ever U-21 Hurling All-Ireland final, is included in the full-forward line.

Completing the line-up is Tipperary's Jason Forde and Offaly's Stephen Quirke. Forde was superb in all of the games he featured in and finished the campaign with an impressive total of 5-23. Offaly's only nomination, Quirke scored 1-10 against Kilkenny as the Faithful nearly overcame the odds to beat the Cats.

Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year:
Ronan Taffe, Paul Flanagan, David McInerney, Brian Kennedy, Seadna Morey, Alan O'Neill, Ray Barry, Colm Galvin, Lee Chin, Tony Kelly, Padraic Collins, Stephan McAfee, Stephen Quirke, Jason Forde, Ciarán Clarke 

Nominations for Player of the Year:
David McInerney, Jason Forde, Podge Collins, Tony Kelly, Colm Galvin, Lee Chin