Tony Kelly, Pádraic Collins and Anthony Nash nominated for Hurler of the Year

Updated: Thursday, 03 Oct 2013 11:25 | Comments

Nash in action against Clare - who lead the way with 13 All Star nominations
Nash in action against Clare - who lead the way with 13 All Star nominations

Tony Kelly and Pádraic Collins from Clare and Cork’s Anthony Nash have all been nominated for the GAA GPA Hurler of the Year award.

The young player category also includes Kelly and Collins and they are joined by their county colleague David McInerney.

As for the GAA GPA All Star awards, Davy Fitzgerald’s All-Ireland champions lead the way with 13 nominations. Beaten finalists Cork are rewarded with nine, the same number as Dublin, who achieved a breakthrough Leinster success in 2013.

Similarly Limerick, who ended their own long wait for provincial success have landed seven and they are followed by Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford who receive four, two and one respectively.

All told, only 13 of last year’s nominees are included on this year’s list of 45.

The final selection will be made on Wednesday 6 November before the final 15 are presented with their awards two days later at the All Star banquet at Croke Park.  

Nominees 2013 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars

Goalkeepers: Anthony Nash (Cork), Patrick Kelly (Clare), Gary Maguire (Dublin)

Full-backs: David McInerney (Clare), Domhnall O'Donovan (Clare), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Tom Condon (Limerick), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Shane O'Neill (Cork), Conor O'Sullivan (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Tomás Waters (Wexford)

Half-backs: Brendan Bugler (Clare), Patrick Donnellan (Clare), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Michael Carton (Dublin), Brian Murphy (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick), Gavin O'Mahony (Limerick), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Michael Walsh (Waterford)

Midfield: Conor Ryan (Clare), Colm Galvin (Clare), Joey Boland (Dublin), Paul Browne (Limerick), Daniel Kearney (Cork), Kevin Moran (Waterford)

Half-forwards: Tony Kelly (Clare), John Conlon (Clare), Colin Ryan (Clare), Séamus Harnedy (Cork), Patrick Cronin (Cork), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin), James Ryan (Limerick), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)

Full-forwards: Pádraic Collins (Clare), Conor McGrath (Clare), Shane O'Donnell (Clare), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor Lehane (Cork), Paul Ryan (Dublin), David O'Callaghan (Dublin), Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

Nominees for Player of Year: 

Tony Kelly (Clare) Anthony Nash (Cork), Pádraic Collins (Clare)

Nominees for Young Player of the Year:  
Tony Kelly (Clare), David McInerney (Clare) Pádraic Collins (Clare)

The county by county breakdown is as follows: Clare (13), Cork (9) Dublin (9), Limerick (7), Kilkenny (4), Waterford (2), Wexford (1) 

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use