Leinster SHC semi-final preview: Kilkenny v Dublin

Updated: Sunday, 23 Jun 2013 15:44 | Comments

Kilkenny survived an early scare against Offaly
Kilkenny survived an early scare against Offaly



By Micil Glennon

Kilkenny v Dulin, Portlaoise, 3.50pm

Dublin’s reward for coming through an ill-tempered quarter-final with Wexford is a tie with the All-Ireland champions.

Some might say there is never a good time to face the Cats but they will be even more determined to impress today.

Brian Cody may have seemed blasé after the Offaly game but you can be sure he mentioned to his players that conceding four goals in a Championship game, just the third time in 63 games, is simply not on.

Conor Fogarty, Cillian Buckley and Walter Walsh come into the side in place of Jackie Tyrrell, TJ Reid and Aidan Fogarty.

Dublin’s main concern should be that Kilkenny have another couple of gears if required.

Anthony Daly’s men will head to Portlaoise after a nasty, bruising two-game series with the Model County.

One of the big lessons learned will be that there is much room for improvement and a huge gap to be made up to rattle the Cats.

Baker has named the same side as last week; Conal Keaney should be fit to take his place after a positive MRI scan during the week.

The Clare man will know that goals are the key to staying in this game.

Either taking advantage of Kilkenny’s hesitancy under the high ball, or stopping them up the other end.

Speaking in The Herald, Daly said: "We must hope they have an off-day and we have a right good day.

The sides met at the same stage last year and the Cats were in typically merciless form, clocking up an 18-point win.

While the league champions haven’t reached their peak yet, Dublin’s recent form has been mediocre and the qualifiers beckon.

For Kilkenny, they will also want to the chance to bring the Bob O'Keeffe back where it belongs, to Leinster at least, by challenging Galway in the final on 7 July.

Verdict: Kilkenny

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy, Paul Murphy, JJ Delaney, Conor Fogarty, Tommy Walsh, Brian Hogan, Kieran Joyce, Lester Ryan, Michael Rice, Cillian Buckey, Richie Power, Eoin Larkin, Walter Walsh, Richie Hogan, Colin Fennelly.

Dublin: Gary Maguire, Niall Corcoran, Peter Kelly, Paul Schutte, Stephen Hiney, Liam Rushe, Michael Carton, John McCaffrey, Joseph Boland, Conal Keaney, Ryan O'Dwyer, Danny Sutcliffe, Paul Ryan, David Treacy, Conor McCormack.

Highlights and analysis of all the weekend’s action on The Sunday Game from 22:00 on Sunday 23 June on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only).

Expert and fan reaction on Take Your Point from 18:00 on Sunday 23 June on RTÉ Radio 1 and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use