All-Ireland SFC Round 3 qualifier previews

Updated: Saturday, 20 Jul 2013 18:59 | Comments

Stephen O'Neill is due to start for the Red Hands Tyrone beat Kildare when the sides met in the league semi-final in April
Stephen O'Neill is due to start for the Red Hands Tyrone beat Kildare when the sides met in the league semi-final in April


Galway v Armagh, Pearse Stadium, 5pm

Galway were able to put the pain of a 17-point Connacht defeat to Mayo out of their system with a 1-12 to 0-11 win over Tipperary in round one.

They made hard work out of visitors Waterford in round two, requiring a late goal to get past the Déise. 

Armagh were outplayed by Cavan in Ulster, but demolished Wicklow in the first qualifier round, 2-21 to 0-02.

An injury-hit Leitrim side provided no match for the Ulster men last week as they scored eight goals.

Somehow Galway are still in the Championship but they don’t look to have the extra gear needed to reach round four.

Verdict: Armagh

Galway: Manus Breathnach, Donal O'Neill, Finian Hanley, Keith Kelly, Johnny Duane, Gary O'Donnell, Gary Sice, Paul Conroy, Tom Flynn, John O'Brien, Sean Armstrong, Conor Doherty, Michael Martin, Michael Meehan, Danny Cummins.

Armagh: P McEvoy, P McKeown, B Donaghy, J Morgan, A Kernan, C McKeever, M Shields, J Lavery, S Harold, C Rafferty, K Dyas, E Rafferty; J Clarke, T Kernan, E McVerry.

Derry v Cavan, Celtic Park, 5pm

Derry were beaten 2-17 to 1-15 by Down in the Ulster quarter-final in Celtic Park before accounting for an uninspired Sligo by seven points in round one.

The Oak Leafers got their revenge on the Mourne Men in the last round running out five-point victors - again in Celtic Park.

The Breffni County were impressive in Ulster, beating Armagh and Fermanagh before losing in the semi-final to Monaghan.

They came out on top in an ill-tempered re-match with Fermanagh in the last round.

Luck is on Derry’s side as they have home advantage for the fourth time this summer and it may swing it their way.

Verdict: Derry

Derry: Eoin McNicholl, Aidan McAlynn, Chrissy McKaigue, Dermot McBride, Charlie Kielt, Mark Lynch (c), Sean Leo McGoldrick, Patsy Bradley, Conor McAtamney, Benny Heron, James Kielt, Enda Lynn, Ryan Bell, Eoin Bradley, Emmett McGuckin.

Cavan: A O'Mara, J McLoughlin, R Dunne, K Clarke, J McEnroe, A Clarke (c), R Flanagan, D O'Reilly, D Givney, C Mackey, J Brady, F Flanagan, N McDermott, M Dunne, E Keating.

Kildare v Tyrone, Newbridge, 7pm (Live on RTE.ie and RTÉ Two)

Kildare ran out comfortable 0-19 to 1-12 winners over Offaly in the Leinster quarter-final.

After a bright start against Dublin they disappeared, conceding 4-16 to the champions before accounting for Louth in the last qualifier round.

Tyrone were overpowered by Donegal in the Ulster quarter-final, 2-10 to 0-10, before trouncing a depleted Offaly side in Tullmore in Round 1.

The Red Hand got a stiffer test against Roscommon two weeks ago, but emerged 0-12 to 1-07 winners.

The sides met in the league semi-final and Tyrone looked to have an extra gear when they won by four points.

Verdict: Tyrone

Kildare: S Connolly, D Hyland, P Kelly, H McGrillen, E Callaghan, M O'Flaherty, E Bolton, D Flynn, P O'Neill, D Flynn, N Kelly, E O'Flaherty, J Doyle, T O'Connor, P Brophy.

Tyrone: P McConnell, A McCrory, C Clarke, C McCarron, R McKenna, P Harte, C Gormley, C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh, M Donnelly, M Donnelly, J McMahon, D McCurry, S O’Neill, M Penrose.

Wexford v Laois, Wexford Park, 7pm

Wexford beat Louth away before falling to a second-half surge by Meath in the Leinster semi-final in Croke Park.

They had to dig deep last week to record an extra-time win in Longford.

Laois were shocked in the opening round of Leinster at home to Louth (1-16 to 1-06) before overpowering Carlow in Dr Cullen Park.

The O’Moore County had way too much for Clare in the last round, running out 16-point victors.

The Model County targeted a Leinster final and will be eager to make up for that miss with a decent qualifier return.

Verdict: Wexford:

Wexford: Anthony Masterson, Michael Furlong, Graeme Molloy, Robert Tierney, Brian Malone, David Murphy, Adrian Flynn, Daithi Waters, Rory Quinlivan, James Holmes, Redmond Barry, Aindreas Doyle, Ciaran Lyng, Paddy Byrne, PJ Banville

Laois: Eoin Culliton, Paul Begley, Mark Timmons, Peter O'Leary, Darren Strong, Kieran Lillis, Padraig McMahon, Padraig Clancy, John O'Loughlin, Ross Munnelly, Donal Kingston, Colm Begley, Billy Sheehan, Conor Meredith, David Conway. 

All-Ireland SFC Round 4 Qualifiers 27 July

Galway or Armagh v Cork, Croke Park, 5pm

Kildare or Tyrone v Meath, Croke Park, 7pm

Wexford or Laois v Donegal or Monaghan, TBC

Derry or Cavan v Mayo or London, TBC

Highlights and analysis of all the weekend’s action on The Sunday Game from 21:30 on Sunday 21 July on RTÉ Two and RTÉ.ie (Ireland only). Expert and fan reaction on Take Your Point from 18:00 on RTÉ Radio 1 and RTÉ.ie (Worldwide).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use