Ulster SFC quarter-final: Fermanagh v Cavan

Updated: Friday, 14 Jun 2013 11:54 | Comments

Cavan emerged victorious in the qualifiers last year
Cavan emerged victorious in the qualifiers last year

By Micil Glennon

Fermanagh v Cavan, Brewster Park, Sunday, 2pm

The last of the Ulster Football Championship quarter-finals takes place on Sunday in the shadow of the G8 summit taking in Enniskillen on Monday and Tuesday.

Fermanagh will be out for some degree of revenge after last year’s qualifier loss in which the Cavan hit 3-03 in a 10-minute second-half spell to progress to the next round.

But in the last meeting, an ill-tempered Allianz Football League tie in Breffni Park in March, which saw three Fermanagh players and one from Cavan sent off, Peter Canavan’s men got the better of the Breffni County, 1-12 to 1-10.

Ahead of the game the ex-Tyrone forward told the Irish News: "Cavan were very strong [against Armagh] and it didn't surprise me that they won. We know from past experience the quality they possess – they put 3-13 past us in the qualifiers last year and we played them in the league this year.”

Canavan hands Championship debuts to Ederney St Joseph’s duo Chris Snow (goalkeeper) and Declan McCusker (wing-back), while James Sherry and captain Ryan McCluskey return.

However, Daryl Keenan, Barry Mulrone and Anthony McGuinness are ruled out.

While most of the talk in Ulster has been of Donegal’s dismissal of Tyrone and Down’s win over Derry (the game of the season so far), Cavan impressed in their surprise win over Armagh.

But manager Terry Hyland is expecting Fermanagh to adopt a different approach than the Orchard County.

"It will be a much more claustrophobic game," he said.

"Fermanagh will play 10 or 12 men behind the ball. The game is going to be marked down to patience with the ball and what use we make with the percentage of the ball that we do have.”

The star of the show was debutant Martin Dunne who hit 0-09 in Breffni Park and Hyland names the same side as was due to start the last game.

Verdict: Cavan

Fermanagh: Chris Snow, John Woods, Barry Owens, Damien Kelly, Declan McCusker, Ryan McCluskey (c), Marty O’Brien, James Sherry, Marty McGrath, Conor Quigley, Shane McCabe, Ryan Jones, Paul Ward, Sean Quigley, Tomas Corrigan.

Cavan: Conor Gilsenan, Jason McLoughlin, Rory Dunne, Killian Clarke, James McEnroe, Alan Clarke (c), Ronan Flanagan, Damien O'Reilly, David Givney, Cian Mackey, Jack Brady, Feargal Flanagan, Niall McDermott, Martin Dunne, Eugene Keating.

Watch live coverage of Fermanagh v Cavan and Mayo v Roscommon on The Sunday Game Live on RTÉ Two television and RTÉ.ie (Island of Ireland).

Highlights of all the weekend’s action on The Sunday Game on RTÉ Two from 10.00pm

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use