Galway 1-12 Wexford 0-06

Updated: Sunday, 18 Aug 2013 12:54 | Comments

Galway's Niamh Kilkenny celebrates scoring the only goal of the game
Galway's Niamh Kilkenny celebrates scoring the only goal of the game



Wexford’s Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship four-in-a-row bid came to an end at the hands of old rivals Galway, as the Connacht side recorded a 1-12 to 0-06 semi-final victory at Semple Stadium.

With seven of last year’s All-Ireland-winning team unavailable, it was always going to be difficult for JJ Doyle’s crew, and though they battled throughout, they never looked like making it to Croke Park once Niamh Kilkenny hit the back of the net in the 23rd minute.

The Model County had just two players in the full-forward line playing into a very strong wind and would have been very satisfied to be level at 0-02 apiece at the end of the opening quarter.

Their two points came from frees, and that told a tale in itself, as all their subsequent scores came from placed balls.

Indeed, the entire game was a stop-start affair punctuated by frees, but as Galway gained dominance around the middle, they gradually pulled clear.

Niamh McGrath slotted three points, before Kilkenny drove beyond the helpless Mags D’Arcy and an injury-time point from Ailish O’Reilly left it 1-06 to 0-02 at half-time.

With player of the match Therese Maher revelling in being a free player at centre-back, the westerners fired over three of the next four points to extend the margin to nine.

Wexford raised their levels in response and Jacob converted a free, before Kate Kelly fired over from distance.

Any chance they had was lost when Katrina Parrock received her second yellow card and was sent off in the 48th minute.

Jacob converted another free but Galway remained comfortable and points from Kilkenny and Noreen Coen removed any doubt.

Scorers – Galway: N Kilkenny 1-2; N McGrath (2fs), A O’Reilly 0-3 each, B Hanney 0-2; E Haverty, N Coen 0-1 each

Wexford: U Jacob 0-5(fs); K Kelly 0-1(f)

Galway: S Earner, T Manton, S Dervan, H Cooney, S Cahalan, T Maher, L Ryan, N Kilkenny, M Dunne, E Haverty, N McGrath, E Kilkelly, B Hanney, A< Hayes, A O’Reilly. Sub: N Coen for Kilkelly (39); AM Starr for Haverty (60+1)

Wexford: M D’Arcy, C Donohoe, N Lambert, Atkinson, B Curran, Shelly Kehoe, S Sinnott, K Kelly, F Kavanagh, J Dwyer, K Parrock, B Gordon, E O’Connor, F Rochford, U Jacob. Subs: F Doran for Donohoe (37); Stacey Kehoe for O’Connor (43); S McGivern for Rochford (52)

Referee: C Egan (Cork)

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use