Wexford dominate Camogie All Star nominations

Updated: Wednesday, 03 Oct 2012 18:49 | Comments

Wexford won their third consecutive All-Ireland title last month
Wexford won their third consecutive All-Ireland title last month

Wexford have been further rewarded for their All-Ireland exploits with 12 nominations for this year’s All Stars.

The Slaneysiders, who landed their third consecutive All-Ireland crown last month, have one more nomination than beaten finalists Cork.

Wexford had six players in the All Star team of 2011, while 2012 league champions Cork will hope to improve on the All Stars they picked up last year.

Other counties represented on the 45-player shortlist include Galway (7), Offaly (6), Tipperary and Clare (both 3), Kilkenny (2) and Dublin (1).

2012 Camogie All Star nominations:

Goalkeepers: Eleanor Clendennen (Offaly), Mags D’Arcy (Wexford), Aoife Murray (Cork).

Full-backs: Karen Atkinson (Wexford), Rena Buckley (Cork), Jenny Duffy (Cork), Catherine Doherty (Kilkenny), Máire McGrath (Clare), Claire O’Connor (Wexford), Catherine O’Loughlin (Wexford), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Sheila Sullivan (Offaly).

Half-backs: Deirdre Codd (Wexford), Orlaith Duggan (Clare), Lorraine Keena (Offaly), Noeleen Lambert (Wexford), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Therese Maher (Galway), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Mary Ryan (Tipperary).

Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Ann Marie Hayes (Galway), Jill Horan (Tipperary), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Jennifer O’Leary (Cork).

Half-forwards: Briege Corkery (Cork), Josie Dwyer (Wexford), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Anna Geary (Cork), Niamh McGrath (Galway), Muireann O’Gorman (Dublin), Michelle O’Leary (Wexford), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)

Full-forwards: Síle Burns (Cork), Martina Conroy (Galway), Veronica Curtin (Galway), Elaine Dermody (Offaly), Ursula Jacob (Wexford), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Katrina Parrock (Wexford), Fiona Rochford (Wexford), Arlene Watkins (Offaly).

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use