After a slow beginning Carlow were convincing winners of this Allianz League Division 4 opener in Dungarvan.

Waterford started best with Stephen Curry nudging his side in front with a first minute point.

Dylan Corcoran doubled the lead but they faded as Carlow came to grips with the pace of the contest.

A free apiece from Darragh Foley and Paul Broderick levelled and even though Conor Murray replied with another point for Waterford it was the visitors who took control.

They could have had a penalty when Ross Dunphy was fouled on the 13m line but had to be content with a free which Broderick converted.

Carlow also had a goal disallowed when Paul Broderick picked up a loose clearance, fed to Chris Blake who in turn off-loaded to Conor Crowley who tapped in.

Fortunately for Waterford the corner-forward was adjudged to have been in the small square before the final pass was made.

With four out of six forwards registering on the scoreboard in the half, Carlow led 0-09 to 0-05 at the break.

They went on to dominate the third quarter with Jamie Clarke coming in on the end of a sweet Carlow passing movement.

He still had a lot to do but he picked his spot in the bottom left-hand corner for a great goal.

Waterford continued to live on scraps and paid the price when Colm Hulton pounced for a second Carlow goal to assure them of the points with just over ten minutes left.

The eventual winners were happy to drop back players, absorb the pressure and look forward to Wexford at home in two weeks' time.

Even then Conor Crowley was on hand to score a third Carlow goal on 75 minutes. Easy in the end.

Waterford: Paudie Hunt (0-1 45); Sean Boyce, Brian Looby, Darach O Cathasaigh; Donal Fitzgerald, Michael Curry, Dermot Ryan; Tommy Prendergast, Mark Cummins (0-1); Jason Curry (0-3 frees), Conor Murray (0-1), David Hallinan; Stephen Curry (0-1), Dylan Guiry, Darragh Corcoran (0-2, 1 mark).

Subs: Jason Gleeson for Fitzgerald (h/t), Brian Lynch (0-1 free) for Hannon (50 mins), Michael Kiely for Guiry (61 mins), Caoimhin Maguire for Jason Curry (61 mins)

Carlow: Ciaran Cunningham; Conor Lawler (0-1), Mark Furey, Liam Roberts; Sean Gannon, John Murphy (0-1), Josh Moore; Eoghan Ruth, Darragh Foley (0-4fs); Jamie Clarke (1-1), Ross Dunphy (0-2), Darragh O'Brien (0-1); Paul Broderick (0-4, 1f), Chris Blake, Conor Crowley (1-1).

Subs: Shane Redmond for Furey (15 mins), Colm Hulton (1-1, 1 mark) for Blake (56 mins), Jason Kane for Gannon (59 mins), Conor Doyle for Ruth (59 mins), Shane O’Neill for Clarke, Tomas Kenny for Broderick, Danny Thompson for O’Brien (all 63 mins)

Referee: John Ryan (Cork)