Limerick v Clare, LIT Gaelic Grounds, 4pm

Limerick v Clare live on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player. Live overseas on GAAGO. Highlights on The Sunday Game at 9.30pm.

Live blog on RTÉ.ie and the RTÉ News Now App from 1pm.

Live commentary on  RTÉ Radio 1's Sunday Sport.

Showers will be widespread during the afternoon before dying out again in the evening. Highest temperatures 13 to 16 degrees; winds light and variable. For more see

Neighbourhood watch

Limerick and Clare have always had an intense rivalry but the stakes are particularly high this weekend.

If Clare win, John Kiely's side will go no further this summer, even if they were to beat Tipperary.

It would be the earliest exit by reigning All-Ireland champions since 1992 and one that scarcely seemed possible when they cruised to the Allianz Hurling League title just over two months ago.

But such is the cut-throat nature of the round-robin Munster championship.

Limerick will be confident of avoiding that fate however, after recovering from their opening day lapse against Cork with a commanding 20-point victory in Waterford last weekend.

Clare only won in Walsh Park by a point and were thrashed by Tipperary at home last week.

They are also the away team on Sunday, but will point to their 11-point win over the Treaty men in Munster last year as grounds for optimism. The Banner haven't lost a Championship game to Limerick since 2015.

If Clare lose this one, anything other than a big win over Cork on the final day might not be enough, unless Limerick can also beat Tipperary.

Michael Duignan's verdict: "Your Tony Kellys, Colm Galvins, Peter Duggans, John Conlons, Shane O'Donnells, they don't become bad players overnight. They had an off-day and Tipp played really well. 

"Going into a local derby against Limerick, it's going to be much closer. Clare are going to come with a performance.

"But I think Limerick's need and their key players - Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch - stood up last week. John Kiely made key changes in the half-back line, dropping Diarmaid Byrnes, and he was backed up by the players on the field. 

"I think it's going to be the game of the championship and I'm expecting Limerick to come through a titanic battle."

Last five Championship Meetings
2018 Clare 0-26 Limerick 0-15 (Munster round-robin)
2017 Clare 3-17 Limerick 2-16 (Munster semi-final)
2016 Clare 0-19 Limerick 0-15 (All-Ireland qualifiers)
2015 Limerick 1-19 Clare 2-15 (Munster quarter-final)
2013 Clare 1-22 Limerick 0-18 (All-Ireland semi-final)

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Paddy O’Loughlin; Cian Lynch, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy, Peter Casey.

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Patrick O'Connor, David McInerney, Seadna Morey; Cathal Malone, Jack Browne, Conor Cleary; Shane Golden, Colm Galvin, Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Diarmuid Ryan; Shane O'Donnell, John Conlon, Podge Collins.

Follow all the hurling action this weekend via our live blogs on RTÉ.ie/sport and the News Now app, listen to live national commentary on RTÉ Radio 1 and watch live and exclusive TV coverage of Limerick v Clare on RTÉ2 and the RTÉ Player