Ireland manager Pete McGrath today named a 27-man squad for this month's Coca-Cola International Rules series against Australia - but Sydney Swan Tadhg Kennelly was a notable omission.

The 24-year-old Kennelly has an ankle injury and the Swans have opted to pull the Kerryman out of the series in favour of keyhole surgery.

McGrath has named ten players who will be hoping to make their series debuts Down Under - including All-Ireland winning captain Brian Dooher, who is one of seven Tyrone players included for the trip.

The other debutants are Tyrone team-mates Phillip Jordan, Ryan McMenamin and Stephen O'Neill, as well as Ronan Clarke, Colm 'Gooch' Cooper, Michael McVeigh, Michael Meehan, Owen Mulligan and Ross Munnelly.

Thirteen counties are represented in the squad in all - Cork and this year's runners-up Kerry have three players each. Seán Óg Ó hAilpín, Cork's All-Ireland winning hurling captain, has also been included by McGrath.

Galway’s Padraig Joyce will captain the team as Ireland bid to retain the Cormac McAnallen Cup. The first Test takes place in Perth on October 21, with the second, a week later, in Melbourne's Telstra stadium.

2005 Ireland International Rules Squad:

Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Brian Dooher (Tyrone), Philip Jordan (Tyrone), Brian McGuigan (Tyrone), Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone), Eoin Mulligan (Tyrone), Stephen O'Neill (Tyrone), Eoin Brosnan (Kerry), Colm Cooper (Kerry), Tomás Ó Sé (Kerry), Graham Canty (Cork), Anthony Lynch (Cork), Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork), Michael McVeigh (Down), Brendan Coulter (Down), David Heaney (Mayo), Ciaran McDonald (Mayo), Padraig Joyce (Galway, captain), Michael Meehan (Galway), Tom Kelly (Laois), Ross Munnelly (Laois), Ronan Clarke (Armagh), Bryan Cullen (Dublin), Dessie Dolan (Westmeath), Mattie Forde (Wexford), Ciaran McManus (Offaly), Sean Martin Lockhart (Derry).