Kildare are the O'Byrne Cup champions after beating Longford 0-12 to 1-06 in Longford. Clare and Tipperary finished with 1-06 apiece in the McGrath Cup Final in Miltown Malbay, but in extra-time Tipperary beat the holders by 1-09 to 1-08.

In the Connacht FBD League, Mayo beat Galway 2-14 to 0-07 in Garrymore. Leitrim overcame Sligo 0-13 to 0-09 in Carrick-on-Shannon. GMIT and Roscommon finished level in Woodmount, the final score 2-09 to 1-12.

In the Dr McKenna Cup semi-finals, Monaghan beat Armagh 1-10 to 1-06 in Crossmaglen and Tyrone overcame Cavan 2-11 to 0-10 in Breffni Park.

In hurling's Walsh Cup, Laois beat Wexford 1-12 to 0-09 in Portlaoise. Offaly defeated Westmeath 0-14 to 0-08 in Mullingar and Dublin saw off Meath by 2-16 to 0-10 in Navan.

Filed by Amanda Fennelly