Mayo surrendered a seven-point advantage as a last-minute goal from Patrick Kennelly put Meath through to the All-Ireland Minor Football Championship final in Croke Park.

Wasteful Mayo led 1-05 to 0-01 in the first half when Diarmuid O'Connor blasted home from close range with goalkeeper Robert Burlingham unable to keep the ball out, before Patrick Durcan added a point.

It was an undeserved lead after the royals squandered several early chances but they finally found momentum as the half went on with Pauric Harnan, Jason Daly and Cillian O'Sullivan knocking over scores to reduce the gap to just four points at the half-way stage.

James Quinn helped Mayo opened up a seven-point advantage for the second time in the game in the opening minutes of the second half but it proved to be their last score until added-time.

Two more points from O’Sullivan helped the Royals get within a goal of Tony Duffy’s side and a foot block in the parallelogram allowed Fiachra Ward the chance to convert a penalty to level the game.

It looked like a replay was on the cards until chaos in the Mayo defence following a protracted Meath build-up saw Kennelly on hand to blast home soccer-style from eight metres out. The score put the Royals into the final, winning 2-10 to 1-11 after a Mayo point with the last kick of the game.