A crowd of over 3,000 watched Galway secure the FBD League title at Tuam Stadium but it took them 80 minutes to do so against a dogged Roscommon sides.

The Connacht rivals could not be separated over the hour, with
Roscommon sending the game to extra-time (at 2-09 to 1-12) with a late Senan Kilbride point.

But Liam Sammon's Tribesmen took control in the additional period - Barry Cullinane hoovered up the ball around midfield and a run of six points saw the victors pull clear.

Roscommon, who were 2-04 to 0-07 behind at half-time in normal time, leaked goals to Jonathan Ryan and Michael Meehan but a Kilbride goal inspired their second-half push.

The opening stages were particularly tight. Karol Mannion put the
Rossies into a second-minute lead but Darren Mullahy and Padraic Joyce edged Galway ahead in the seventh minute.

Points followed from Seanie McDermott, who was Roscommon's best player throughout, and Kilbride and then Galway captain Nicky Joyce lobbed over from close range to tie up the game at 0-03 apiece.

In the 14th minute, Galway broke through for their first goal. It came from a turnover of possession as a wayward kick from Mannion got the hosts within range and after a swift series of passes, Ryan bulged the net.

A Cormac Bane point and Meehan's goal, on the half-hour mark, pushed Galway onto 2-04 but the Rossies, who were missing a number of last year's panel, closed the half well with points from Kilbride, McDermott and Fintan Cregg.

Fergal O'Donnell's side managed to close the gap to a point but by the midpoint of the second half, Galway were five points to the good (2-08 to 0-09) thanks to efforts from Meehan (0-02), Joe Bergin and Mullahy.

However, Roscommon did not drop their heads and battled right to the finish as Kilbride's late haul of 1-01 set up two 10-minute periods of extra-time.

Nonetheless, Galway really held the advantage in extra-time as Bane, Meehan (0-02) and Mullahy rifled over a string of points, moving Sammon's charges 2-13 to 1-12 ahead by half-time in extra-time.

Cullinane and Padraic Joyce added further scores in the second period before Roscommon nabbed the game's final two points, but they needed goals at this stage and just minutes later Nicky Joyce was presented with the Paddy Francis Dwyer Cup by outgoing Connacht Council President Lorcan O'Cuinn.