Kerry and Limerick progressed to the Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Football Championship final today with convincing wins over Tipperary and Clare respectively.

Kerry produced an erratic, but at times dazzling, display to dispose of an inferior Tipp side on a 0-25 to 1-21 scorline in Tralee. Playing with a strong breeze in the first-half, all of Kerry's midfielders and forwards registered scores as the Kingdom led 0-15 to 0-5 at half-time. Declan Browne, easily Tipp's best player after eventually amassing a personal tally of 1-05, netted a 38th minute goal to make it 0-15 to 1-07. However, the introduction of the superb Mike Frank Russell saw Kerry re-discover their first-half form as they eventually ran out easy winners. Russell, who managed three in his 25 minutes on the field, could well have earned himself a place on Paidi O'Se's starting XV for the final.

In Ennis, Clare failed to make numerical advantage tell as 14-man Limerick earned their first Munster Football final appearance since 1991. Limerick raced into an early 1-01 to 0-00 lead thanks to a Conor Fitzgerald goal in the fourth minute, however, Clare fought back to stay in contention. Corner back Mark O'Riordan was dismissed in the 22nd minute for a foul on Brian Considine, however, Limerick still kept their noses in front to lead 1-08 to 0-06 at the break. A Clare comeback did not materialise in the second half and when Johnny Murphy netted Limerick's second goal late in the game the Shannonsiders' passage was guaranteed.

Filed by James Boylan