Laois have beaten Wicklow by 3-6 to 0-08 in the Leinster Football championship at Dr Cullen Park. Wicklow had taken the early initiative and had a three-point lead before Laois settled themselves and assumed a half-time lead of 2-2 to 0-5 thanks to goals from Michael Lawlor and Brian ‘Beano’ McDonald.

A Chris Conway goal shortly after the break increased Laois’ lead and the match was effectively over as a contest a short time later with points from Ian Fitzgerald, Greg Ramsbottom and Conway. Wicklow had Colm Twomey and Anthony Nolan sent off in the closing stages.

Filed by Tom Grealis