Derry 1-8 Laois 0-8

Derry beat Laois by 1-8 to 0-8 in an evenly matched round three championship playoff game at Breffni Park this evening. Enda Muldoon's goal in the 30th minute proved to be the decisive score of the game, as both sides matched each other point for point. The unmarked Muldoon picked up a low pass from Paddy Bradley, and having side-stepped through the Laois defence, he rifled the ball into the top of the net. Derry took a 1-4 to 0-4 lead going into half-time after a patchy first half.

The quality of football improved in the second half, but the scores remained close throughout. Gavin Diamond, Johnny McBride, Anthony Tohill and Paul Murphy all scored points for Derry. Each Derry point received a Laois reply, with Ian Fitzgerald, Chris Conway, Noel Garvan and substitute Greg Ramsbottom all scoring. However, with that crucial Derry goal, Laois were always chasing the game and that lucky break just never arrived.

Filed by Greg McKevitt