A dramatic last minute goal from Gerry Lohan gave Roscommon their first Bank of Ireland Connacht football title since 1991 when they defeated Mayo 2-10 to 1-12 at Hyde Park this afternoon. Roscommon showed character and strength to beat the current League champions and win their 19th Connacht title.

The home-side led 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time following a very unsettled 39 minutes of play with a number of unforced errors, bad handling and bad passing. Roscommon started the better side with Connor Connelly and Francie Grehan opening Mayo's account before points from Kieran McDonald and Trevor Mortimer levelled the teams in the 16th minute.

McDonald and Lohan exchanged points with points from Stephen Carolyn and Marty McNicholas giving Mayo a two-point advantage. Roscommon fought back with points from Frankie Dolan before Lohan and Seamas O'Neill gave Roscommon a two point lead at half-time.

In the second half, the strong breeze favoured Mayo and they counter-attacked with two points from Sheridan to level the sides. Two minutes after the restart Clifford McDonald was sent off for a tackle on James Gill and Mayo took advantage with points from McManamon, McDonald and Sheridan.

However, Roscommon clawed Mayo back with points from Dolan and Seamas O'Neill to level the scoreline for the sixth time at 0-10 to 0-10. In the 60th minute the playing field was levelled when Ray Connelly was sent off after an attack on Dolan.

Gerry Lohan scored the first goal of the match for Roscommon before Mayo fought back with points from McDonald, Sheridan and a goal from David Nestor in the 71st minute to give Mayo back the lead at 1-12 to 1-10. A dramatic last gasp goal in the 76th minute however gave victory to Roscommon in a pulsating second half to win 2-10 to 1-12

Filed by Sinéad Kissane