Irish Olympian Billy Twomey won the Horse of the Year Show's headline class in stylish fashion at the LG Arena in Birmingham.

Twomey and the vastly experienced Tinka's Serenade dominated the Leading Showjumper of the Year competition, sealing a six-horse jump-off by more than five seconds from compatriot and London 2012 individual bronze medallist Cian O'Connor.

Twomey, O'Connor and Frenchman Julien Epaillard all posted first-round clears, and with a minimum six riders going forward to the jump off, they were joined by British trio Chloe Aston, Ellen Whitaker and Dan Neilson.

Aston and Whitaker each began round two with a time fault, but both had fences down to end up fifth and sixth respectively, while Neilson finished on four faults with Varo for fourth spot.

O'Connor guided Cooper around in a relatively sedate 46.99 seconds, but his double clear then put pressure on both Epaillard (Qarat de la Loge) and Twomey.

Epaillard's 37.92 seconds proved the quickest jump off time, but one fence down meant Twomey only had to beat O'Connor's time to guarantee himself a €13,000 top prize, and the combination never looked in any trouble as they coasted home. O'Connor took home €10,000 for his runner-up place.

German Daniel Deusser, meanwhile, claimed a thrilling victory in the penultimate international class.

Deusser landed the Vinopolis Speed Horse of the Year title and a winner's purse of just under €3,500 by edging out Britain's Guy Williams.

Kent-based Williams, riding Bijou van de Vijfheide, looked to have done enough in the one round competition with a time of 55.87 seconds.

But 32-year-old Deusser had other ideas, and he guided Domingo home in 55.85 seconds to thwart hopes of a home success.

Williams' fellow British Nations Cup rider Laura Renwick finished third, clocking 59.94 on Beluga, with Tim Page and Steady the Helm fourth.