Ireland's show jumping manager Robert Splaine has announced his squad for the European Championships, which take place this year at Herning in Denmark at the end of August.

A total of 103 riders from 23 countries have been declared for the Championships, which take place every two years.

The Irish squad, from which Splaine will nominate his eventual team of four is 
Shane Breen/Balloon, 
Cameron Hanley/Antello Z, 
Conor Swail/Lansdowne, 
Shane Sweetnam/Amaretto Darco, 
Billy Twomey/Tinkas Serenade

Splaine also confirmed his squad for the Hickstead Nations’ Cup in two weeks time.

Shane Breen/Cos I Can (ISH) 
Trevor Breen /Adventure De Kannan 
Capt Michael Kelly/Annestown (ISH) 
Niall Talbot/Nicos De La Cense 
Billy Twomey/Diaghliev

The manager will confirm his team of four nearer the date of the competition.