The Tour of Ireland received a boost after Team CSC were confirmed for this year's inaugural race, which takes place from 22-26 August.

Team CSC has won the UCI Pro-Tour team competition for the past two years and competes in the biggest events each season.

Team CSC currently has Andy Schleck, Stuart O’Grady and Frank Schleck in the UCI top 12 individual rider world rankings after the Giro D’Italia.

The team members for the Tour of Ireland will be announced at a later date and Director Sportif Kim Andersen, a previous winner in Ireland in the 1896 Nissan Classic, has a wealth of talent to choose from including big names like Fabian Cancellara, Bobby Julich and David Zabriske.

Youngster Andy Schleck has produced great results since be became a professional with CSC providing the team with second place overall in the Giro D’Italia when it finished in Milan on June.