A 15-man Ireland squad has been named for the T20 World Cup campaign, which gets under way in Australia next month, with Simi Singh getting the nod over Andy McBrine.

Conor Olphert and Craig Young, who were both absent for last month's 3-2 series win over Afghanistan at Stormont due to injury, have also been selected.

Singh retains his spot having replaced McBrine for the final two matches of that series.

Graham Hume is another player who was involved against Afghanistan that misses out this time.

Andrew Balbirnie will captain Ireland in what will be Heinrich Malan's first major tournament as head coach.

The squad depart on 29 September and will travel to Sydney, where they will play a three-game warm-up series, before moving on to Melbourne to play two official World Cup warm-up matches.

Ireland's tournament commences against Zimbabwe in Hobart on 17 October, with further fixtures taking place in the Tasmanian capital against Group B rivals Scotland and the West Indies.

The top two in the group will advance to the Super 12 stage.

"One of the most considered decisions we had to make was around our spin bowling options," Andrew White, chair of national men's selectors, explained at the squad announcement.

"With George Dockrell and Gareth Delany both having an impact this summer and the variation they bring to the attack, it came down to making a choice between Simi Singh and Andy McBrine.

"Andy can feel very unfortunate to have missed out this time, but we believe Simi offers more variation on Australian wickets with his ability to take the ball away from both right- and left-handers."

Ireland T20 World Cup squad: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Paul Stirling (vice-captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.