Ireland have been drawn in a first-round group with Sri Lanka, debutants Papua New Guinea and Oman for next year's T20 World Cup in Australia.

Ireland were one of six teams to make it through the recent qualifier tournament, finishing third overall and booking their place Down Under next October.

Graham Ford's world no 14-ranked side will face seventh seeds Sri Lanka on 18 October, Oman (18th) two days later and Papua New Guinea (16th) on 22 October, with all three games taking place at Kardinia Park in Geelong, the second largest city in Victoria.

The side which finishes top in Ireland's Group A will face the Group B runner-up as well as Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and West Indies in the 'Super 12' group round.

India, England, South Africa and Afghanistan await the winner of Group B - which comprises Scotland, Bangladesh, Holland and Namibia - and the Group A runner-up.