Kevin Pietersen has been named in England's provisional 30-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20.

Irish duo Eoin Morgan and Boyd Rankin have also been included.

Pietersen's future has been the topic of much speculation following the humiliating Ashes whitewash, with several sources indicating team director Andy Flower is prepared to jettison him.

While the ECB confirmed in a statement that Pietersen has been initially chosen for the World Twenty20, the 33-year-old is not guaranteed to play in Bangladesh in March as the squad will be halved to a 15-man team following the three-match Twenty20 series against Australia.

England limited overs coach Ashley Giles said there had never been any thought to leave Pietersen out of the squad and described him as a "million dollar asset".

When asked if he and Flower had discussed overlooking the right-hander, he simply replied: "No."

England's provisional 30-man World Twenty20 squad:

Stuart Broad (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler (wkt), Michael Carberry, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Craig Kieswetter (wkt), Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Steven Parry, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, James Tredwell, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright.