Former Ireland bowler Boyd Rankin has been named in England's Ashes squad for the winter series in Australia.

Rankin has yet to play Test cricket but has impressed for England's one-day and T20 teams throughout the summer.

The last Irishman to be named in the England Ashes squad was Ed Joyce in the winter series of 2006-07, although Joyce did not feature in any of the Test matches.

England recalled troubled left-arm spinner Monty Panesar and named two other uncapped players, as well as uncapped Rankin, in their 17-man squad.

Panesar, fined by police in August for urinating in public, has been England's back-up test slow bowler in recent years but Lancashire left-armer Simon Kerrigan was picked alongside Graeme Swann for the fifth and final Ashes test at the Oval last month.

Yorkshire batsman Gary Ballance, Rankin and Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes are all yet to play in the longer format of the game.

England, who won the last Ashes series 3-0, will play three warm-up games before Brisbane hosts the first test in the five-match series from 21 November.

All-rounder Tim Bresnan, still recovering from a stress fracture of his lower back, is to travel to Australia and the England coaches will monitor his fitness progress.

England squad: Alastair Cook (captain), Joe Root, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Matt Prior, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Monty Panesar, Gary Ballance, Michael Carberry, Boyd Rankin, Steven Finn, Ben Stokes, Chris Tremlett.

Ashes Test Schedule:
21-25 November: First Test, The Gabba, Brisbane
5-9 December: Second Test, Adelaide Oval
13-17 December: Third Test, WACA, Perth
26-30 December: Fourth Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground
3-7 January: Fifth Test, Sydney Cricket Ground