Michael Nevin knocked 2011 European champion Ray Moylette out of the light-welterweight division at the National Championships at the National Stadium in Dublin tonight.

The 2008 World Youth champion was beaten on a split decision by the Portlaoise pugilist following a fiery three rounds at the South Circular Road venue.

Twelve semi-finals were decided in all.

Light-flyweight stars Paddy Barnes and Hughie Myers claimed victories over the Blaine Dobbins and Thomas Waites.

Michael Conlan also caught the eye of all three judges in his bantamweight bought against Barry Walsh.

Lynn McEnery got proceedings underway with a unanimous decision over Maeve Clarke, followed by victories for Adam Courtney, Sean McComb, Tyrone McCullagh and David Oliver Joyce.

The women’s light-welterweight deciders went the way of Kelly Harrington and Moira McElligot.

Wexford’s Dean Walsh and Waterford’s Rohan Date served up one of the fights of the night, with Walsh advancing on a unanimous decision.

Three-time World, Youth and Junior medallist Joe Ward will receive a walkover on Saturday night after Sean McGlinchey withdrew with flu.