John Joe Nevin, Katie Taylor and the entire Irish European Union Championships squad claimed the top awards as the IABA celebrated another outstanding year at their awards ceremony at the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel in Dublin on Friday night.

AIBA World Junior champion Joe Ward and European Youth champion Jason Quigley were also honoured.

Taylor, who claimed her fourth European title on the trot in the Ukraine last year, also picked up the Best Boxer award, while European Union middleweight champion Darren O'Neill collected the Best Senior award.

Meanwhile, the Geesala BC did the double after being presented with the Best Club and Best Coach awards.

Former Irish senior champion Michael Carruth, a gold medal winner at the 1992 Olympic in Barcelona, was inducted into the IABA Hall of Fame.

Uniquely, Carruth now joins his father Austin, also an inductee into the IABA Hall of Fame.

Patrick Gallagher, who won National Under-21 and Intermediate titles last year, got the verdict as the Best Under-21 and Rob Gorman was Best Intermediate.


Ann Abette International Achievement Award
John Joe Nevin (Cavan)

Senior International Achievement Award
Katie Taylor (Bray) & 2009 EU Team
Declan Geraghty (Dublin Docklands)
John Joe Nevin (Cavan)
David Oliver Joyce (St Michael's Athy)
Eric Donovan (St Michael's Athy)
Philip Sutcliffe (Crumlin)
Willie McLaughlin (Illies GG)
Darren O'Neill (Paulstown)
Ken Egan (Neilstown)
Con Sheehan (Clonmel)

Schoolboy & Cadet International Achievement Awards
Jason Quigley (Finn Valley)
Gary Molloy (Moate)
Joe Ward (Moate)
Charlie Haggerty (Golden Cobra)
Michael Reilly (Drimnagh)
Bernard Roe (Dublin Docklands)
Victor Medveduic (Tramore)
Ger Whitehouse (Bracken)

Best Boy
Martin Casey (Carlow)
Dylan Carr (Ryston)

Best Youth
Jason Quigley (Finn Valley)

Best Junior
Joe Ward (Moate)

Best Under-21
Patrick Gallagher (Gleann)

Best Intermediate
Rob Gorman (Bracken)

Best Senior
Darren O'Neill (Paulstown)

Best Boxer
Katie Taylor (Bray)

Best Club

Best Coach
Coaching staff at Geesala

Best Referee & Judge
Paul McMahon (Antrim)

Hall of Fame
Michael Carruth (Drimnagh)

Award for Services to Boxing
Nicky White (St Joseph's)