Formerly known as the SuperLeague, the Basketball Ireland Premier League is expanding from eight to ten teams with Templeogue of Dublin and Belfast Star joining the top flight for the 2013/14 campaign.

As well as a new name and teams, the Premier League will be directly linked with the Basketball Ireland Division One league, which until now had been run as a mostly separate entity.

Aside from the phased introduction of a promotion and relegation system between the divisions, there will also be an end-of-season crossover between the top Premier and Division One sides in the Champions Trophy competition.

“It’s very exciting to have these two divisions and the thought of the winners of the Premier and Division One possible facing off against each other in a final at the end of the season,” said Basketball Ireland Secretary General/CEO Bernard O’Byrne.

“We are also introducing a double leg cup format this season and a new league cup that will run alongside the Champions Trophy so teams from both the Premier and Division One that missed out on qualification for the Champions Trophy can get to play each other for a second national title in March, so it’s all very exciting for the upcoming season.”