Francis MacManus Short Story Monday 16 September 2019

The RTÉ Short Story Competition 2020 has now closed for entries and the judging process has begun.  We will announce the shortlist by early autumn.  Best of luck to everyone who entered and watch this space!

Winning Story: Francis MacManus Short Story Competition 2019

Winning Story: Francis MacManus Short Story Competition 2019

For the next two weeks, at the same time, you can hear a story from the shortlist of ten in the Francis MacManus Competition for 2019, selected from over 2000 entries this year. Honey Days by Stephen O'Reilly won first prize in the competition - it's a dark fairytale about artificial intelligence and is read by Jane Brennan

About the Competition

The RTÉ Short Story Competition has been a critically important launch pad for new and emerging writers since its inception in 1986, with a wide ranging appeal including young aspiring authors in Ireland.

A competition for original short stories for radio was first established in 1986 in honour of the RTÉ Radio Head of Features and acclaimed novelist, Francis MacManus (1909-1965). Since then, it has been a source of encouragement, support and recognition for new, emerging writers as well as established names. Past winners have gone on to receive national and international acclaim, including Claire Keegan, Molly McCloskey, Ivy Bannister, Anthony Glavin and Nuala O’Connor, and many more. 

The RTÉ Short Story Competition has been championing new talent for decades with the winning and shortlisted short stories being produced for radio broadcast and voiced by some of Ireland's most talented actors of the stage and screen. In recent years these have included Peter Hanly, Ali White, Emmet Kirwan, Cathy Belton, Ingrid Craigie, Denis Conway, Andrew Bennett, Caitríona Ní Mhurchú, Kathy-Rose O'Brien, and many more.

This year, the full shortlist of 10 stories will be broadcast in the autumn, and will be available for download as podcasts. All three prizewinning stories will also be available to read on 



Contact the Show

Producer: Sarah Binchy

Broadcast Co-Ordinator: Carolyn Dempsey


Ways to Listen

Radio Player