Francis MacManus Short Story Wednesday 26 September 2018

After a record 2000-plus entries this year, the judging has begun for the RTÉ Radio 1 Short Story Competition in honour of Francis MacManus, 2019.

Pictured are judges Declan Meade, Liz Nugent, and Sinéad Crowley.

The shortlist of 10 stories will be announced by the end of August, and the awards will take place on Tuesday 10 September. Watch this space!

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition 2018: The Widower by Nora Pyne

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition 2018: The Widower by Nora Pyne

What is it to live out the grief of loss in a small town, but a loss that comes decades too early. When a husband or wife dies with young children still at home, the community offers condolence, but condolence often flavoured by sympathy, and the sympathy of unshared experience can be heavy, suffocating and isolating. Where does it leave the person left behind, publicly conspicuous as a young widow or widower, living a very private grief?

About the Competition

The RTÉ Radio 1 Short Story Competition has been a critically important launch pad for new and emerging writers since its inception in 1986, with a wide ranging appeal including young aspiring authors in Ireland.

A competition for original short stories for radio was first established in 1986 in honour of the RTÉ Radio Head of Features, and acclaimed novelist, Francis MacManus (1909-1965). Since then, it has been a source of encouragement, support and recognition for new, emerging writers as well as established names. Past winners have gone on to receive national and international acclaim, including Claire Keegan, Molly McCloskey, Ivy Bannister, Anthony Glavin and Nuala O’Connor, and many more. 

Every year, the winning and shortlisted stories are produced and broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 in a season of new writing, read by leading actors, who in recent years have included Peter Hanly, Emmet Kirwan, Cathy Belton, Ingrid Craigie, Denis Conway, Andrew Bennett, Kathy-Rose O'Brien, and many more. 

This year, the full shortlist of 10 stories will be broadcast in the autumn, and will be available for download as podcasts. And for the 2019 competition, all three prizewinning stories will be available to read on following broadcast.



Contact the Show

Producer: Sarah Binchy

Broadcast co-ordinator: Carolyn Dempsey


Ways to Listen

Radio Player