Francis MacManus 
Short Story Competition

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

Monday - Friday, 11.10 pm

Francis MacManus Short Story Thursday 18 July 2013

About the competition:

The competition was founded in memory of Francis Mac Manus, the Kilkenny born novelist, biographer and former Head of Talks and Features at Radio Éireann.  Since its establishment in 1986, the competition has been a launching pad for several new and emerging writers who have subsequently received national and international acclaim.  They include Molly McCloskey, Anthony Glavin, Claire Keegan and Nuala Ní Chonchúir.

The winner of the overall prize will receive €3,000 and prizes of €2,000 and €1,000 will be awarded to the second and third prize winners.

Each of the 25 short-listed stories is recorded being read by a professional reader. The judges listen to these recordings and read the stories to consider their broadcasting and short story qualities before they select the winning entries. The entire shortlist is broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 following the announcement of the competition winners. 

The judges for this year are Evelyn Conlon, Declan Meade and Mary Morrissy.

The shortlisted stories will be announced in the Autumn.

Click here for 2015 Winning Stories and Shortlist

"Washi" by Alastair O'Liathain

"Washi" by Alastair O'Liathain

read by Brendan Laird



Contact the Show

Series producer: Aoife Nic Cormaic


Ways to Listen

Radio Player