Francis MacManus 
Short Story Competition

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

Monday - Friday, 11.10 pm

fmacmanusstories@rte.ie

Winning Stories & Shortlist 2012

About the competition:

The competition was founded in memory of Francis Mac Manus, the Kilkenny born novelist, biographer and former Head of Talks and Features at Radio Éireann.  Since its establishment in 1986, the competition has been a launching pad for several new and emerging writers who have subsequently received national and international acclaim.  They include Molly McCloskey, Anthony Glavin, Claire Keegan and Nuala Ní Chonchúir.

The winner of the overall prize will receive €3,000 and prizes of €2,000 and €1,000 will be awarded to the second and third prize winners.

Each of the 25 short-listed stories is recorded being read by a professional reader. The judges listen to these recordings and read the stories to consider their broadcasting and short story qualities before they select the winning entries. The entire shortlist is broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 following the announcement of the competition winners. 

The judges for this year are Evelyn Conlon, Declan Meade and Mary Morrissy.

The shortlisted stories will be announced in the Autumn.

Click here for 2015 Winning Stories and Shortlist

1st Prize - It's All a Cod by Phil Kearney Byrne, Mohill, Co Leitrim, read by Pat Laffan and broadcast on Monday 18 June 2012 Listen

2nd Prize - The Glass by John Austin Connolly, Booterstown, Co Dublin, Read by Joe Taylor and broadcast on Tuesday 19 June 2012  Listen

3rd Prize - At The Ranch by Dorene Groocock, Goatstown, Dublin 14, read by Ingrid Craigie and broadcast on Wednesday 20 June 2012 (3rd prize winner) Listen

·The Lottery Tickets by Maire P. Crowley, Malahide, Co Dublin, read by Angela Harding and broadcast on Thursday 21 June 2012 Listen

·Departed by Barbara Tarrant, Blackrock, Co Dublin, read by Angela Harding and broadcast on Friday 22 June 2012 Listen

·All Nine Colours by Annemarie Neary, Clapham Common, London, read by Caitríóna Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Monday 25 June 2012 Listen

·No Candles for Jamie by Jim McGowan, Kilmacud, Dublin 14, read by Joan Sheehy and broadcast on Tuesday 26 June 2012  Listen

·Haunted by a Rock Band by Frances Macken, Whitehall, Dublin 9, read by Pat Kinevane and broadcast on Wednesday 27 June 2012 Listen

·Portrait by Justin MacCarthy, Sandymount, Dublin 4, read by Cathy Belton and broadcast on Thursday 28 June 2012 Listen

·Omissions by Wayne O’Keeffe, Butlerstown, Co Waterford, read by Jonathan White and broadcast on Friday 29 June 2012 Listen

·Remembering the Big Field by Bill Coen, read by Pat Laffan and broadcast on Monday 2 July 2012 Listen

·You by Nollaig Rowan, Ranelagh, Dublin 6, read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Tuesday 3 July 2012 Listen

·The Pond by Richard Cotter, Carrigaline, Co Cork, read by Pat Laffan and broadcast on Wednesday 4 July 2012 Listen

·Falling is Just Flying Downwards by Ilija Cvetic, Ballinteer, Dublin 16, read by Pat Kinevane and broadcast on Thursday 5 July 2012 Listen

·Idling by Aideen Henry, Claddagh, Galway City, read by Pat Kinevane and broadcast on Friday 6 July 2012 Listen

·A Rest on the Stave by Marianne O’Rourke, Ranelagh, Dublin 6, read by Jonathan White and broadcast on Monday 9 July 2012 Listen

·Orange and Brown by Angela Finn, Stillorgan, Co Dublin, read by Barbara Bergin and broadcast on Tuesday 10 July 2012 Listen

·The Creek by Chris Connolly, Booterstown, Co Dublin, read by Hope Brown and broadcast on Wednesday 11 July 2012 Listen

·Hold The Line by Eileen Lynch, Dundalk, Co Louth, read by Joan Sheehy and broadcast on Thursday 12 July 2012 Listen

·Friend Me? by Peter McCarthy, Gardiner’s Hill, Co Cork, read by Cathy Belton and broadcast on Friday 13 July 2012 Listen

·The Praeger and The Mohican by Áine Ryan, Westport, Co Mayo, read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Monday 16 July 2012 Listen

·Five Days to Polling Day by Danielle McLaughlin, Donoughmore, Co Cork, read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Tuesday 17 July 2012 Listen

·Operation Glasnost by William Kennedy, Dún Laoghaire, read by Joe Taylor and broadcast on Wednesday 18 July 2012 Listen

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition on Twitter

Contact the Show

Series producer: Aoife Nic Cormaic

Schedule

Ways to Listen

Radio
Mobile
Internet
Radio Player
Podcasts
TV