Shortlist 2018

Please note: this year’s competition closes on Friday 10 May 2019 at 5pm. Entries received any later than that will not be accepted. Good luck with your entries!   

To download a copy of the Rules and Entry Form please click here

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition 2018 – Broadcast dates

1st Prize: ‘Ashes ’ by Claire Zwaartman read by Andrew Bennett to be broadcast Monday 17 September 2018 

2nd Prize: ‘The New Place’ by Peter McNamara read by Peter Coonan to be broadcast Tuesday 18th September 2018

3rd Prize: ‘Have You Seen Her Legs, and Other Stories from Fat Land’ by Claire Mulligan read by Janet Moran to be broadcast Wednesday 19th September 2018

'In Madness and In Feathers’ by Méabh deBrún read by Jane Brennan to be broadcast Thursday 20th September 2018

'Kamikaze’ by Aingeala Flannery read by Kathy Rose O'Brien to be broadcast Friday 21th September 2018

'Sunday Lunch’ by Sarah Gilmartin read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú to be broadcast Monday 24th September 2018

'The Widower’ by Nora Pyne read by Peter Hanly to be broadcast Tuesday 25th September 2018

'The House Guest’ by Aisling Flynn read by Maeve Fitzgerald to be broadcast Wednesday 26th September 2018

'Shelter’ by Sarah Togher read by Cathy Belton to be broadcast Thursday 27th September 2018

'Dog Days’ by Sean Coffey read by Helen Norton to be broadcast Friday 28th September 2018

Twitter

Facebook

Contact the Show

fmacmanusstories@rte.ie

Producer: Sarah Binchy

Broadcast co-ordinator: Carolyn Dempsey

Schedule

Ways to Listen

Radio
Mobile
Internet
Radio Player
Podcasts
TV