Judges 2017


Over 4000 entries received; shortlist to be announced early September

  "We Irish have an obsessive need to tell stories" – Madeleine Keane

"You're looking for someone who can make an entire world in 2,000 words" – Vincent Woods

"The familiar world around us suddenly looked very strange"– Danielle McLaughlin

RTÉ has received over 4000 entries, a record number, to this year’s RTÉ Short Story Competition, one of Ireland’s longest established and most significant literary prizes, in honour of Francis MacManus. 

The panel of three judges  met on Friday 3 July to begin the process of shortlisting the stories to a final 10 nominees which will be produced for radio, and announced in early September. A virtual awards ceremony in RTÉ will follow later in September, where the top three prize winners will be announced.

This year’s judges are editor, lecturer and journalist, Madeleine Keane; award-winning short story writer and previous prize-winner of the RTÉ Short Story Competition, Danielle McLaughlin; and writer and broadcaster Vincent Woods.

Previous prizewinner and judge for 2020, Danielle McLaughlin, says: "This competition offers writers a great opportunity to reach such a large audience. And at a time when the familiar world around us suddenly looked very strange and inspired so many people to write stories, it really is wonderful for those writers to think that the story they have written at the kitchen table, maybe over several months, and invested so much in has the opportunity to be listened to by so many people all over the country."

The overall winner will receive €3,000, while €2,000 and €1,000 will be awarded to the second and third place prize winners respectively. A further seven runners-up will receive €250 each. All 10 short stories in the shortlist will be broadcast in a season of new writing on RTÉ Radio 1 in the autumn and will feature in an RTÉ podcast. The top three prizewinning stories will also be published on thejournal.ie, and all 10 stories will subsequently be published on rte.ie/culture


Sarah Davis-Goff co-founded Tramp Press in 2014 to champion exceptional writing. Tramp writers have most recently won the Goldsmiths Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book of the Year Award. Sarah has written about writing and publishing for the Irish Times, LitHub.com and the Guardian. She lives and works in Dublin.

Photo credit: Norah Ward

Photo credit: Norah Ward

Anthony Glavin is the author of two short-story collections, One For Sorrow & The Draughtsman and The Unicorn, and two novels, Nighthawk Alley & Colours Other Than Blue. Editor of ‘New Irish Writing’ in the Irish Press from 1986-88, he also served as commissioning editor for New Island Books from 1996 to 2004.

Lia Mills writes novels, short stories and literary non-fiction. Her radio essays have featured on Arena. Her memoir In Your Face is an account of her diagnosis with and treatment for mouth cancer. Her most recent novel, Fallen, was the Dublin/Belfast:Two Cities One Book selection for 2016. 

Photo credit: Mark McCall

Photo credit: Mark McCall



Contact the Show


Producer: Sarah Binchy

Broadcast Co-Ordinator: Carolyn Dempsey


Ways to Listen

Radio Player