SHORTLISTED and WINNING STORIES: 2012

The winner of the 2020 RTÉ Short Story Competition has been announced!  Get all the details at rte.ie/culture.    The announcement was made live on Arena on RTÉ Radio 1 as part of a special programme dedicated to the awards.

To listen to and read all ten stories on the shortlist click on  the story title link below after the story has been broadcast. They will be on air week nights at 11.20 p.m. during Late Date on RTÉ Radio 1.

Monday, 28th September 2020: 1st Prize: Flower Wild by Shane Tivenan, read by Ingrid Craigie

Tuesday, 29th September 2020: 2nd Prize: Kissing Booth by Alan Walsh, read by Bláithín MacGabhann

Wednesday, 30th September 2020: 3rd Prize: The Shape on the Strand by Katherine Duffy, read by Jane Brennan

Thursday 1st October: Hands; A Downpour, by Aengus Murray, read by Liam Carney

Friday 2nd October: Neadú by Ceri Garfield, read by Bríd Ní Neachtain

Monday 5th October: The Brow of the Hill, by Edel Moloney, read by Derbhle Crotty

Tuesday 6th October: Everything Will Be Recorded, by Seán Mackel, read by Lalor Roddy

Wednesday 7th October: Beneath the Trees, Where Nobody Sees, by Julie Cruickshank, read by Cathy Belton

Thursday 8th October: Tactics, by Andrew Maguire, read by Ignacy Rybarczyck

Friday 9th October: Guinness & Coke, by Lochlainn McKenna, read by Éanna Hardwicke

It's All a Cod by Phil Kearney Byrne, Mohill, Co Leitrim, read by Pat Laffan and broadcast on Monday 18 June 2012 (1st prize winner) Listen

The Glass by John Austin Connolly, Booterstown, Co Dublin, Read by Joe Taylor and broadcast on Tuesday 19 June 2012 (2nd prize winner) Listen

At The Ranch by Dorene Groocock, Goatstown, Dublin 14, read by Ingrid Craigie and broadcast on Wednesday 20 June 2012 (3rd prize winner) Listen

· The Lottery Tickets by Maire P. Crowley, Malahide, Co Dublin, read by Angela Harding and broadcast on Thursday 21 June 2012 Listen

· Departed by Barbara Tarrant, Blackrock, Co Dublin, read by Angela Harding and broadcast on Friday 22 June 2012 Listen

· All Nine Colours by Annemarie Neary, Clapham Common, London, read by Caitríóna Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Monday 25 June 2012 Listen

· No Candles for Jamie by Jim McGowan, Kilmacud, Dublin 14, read by Joan Sheehy and broadcast on Tuesday 26 June 2012Listen

· Haunted by a Rock Band by Frances Macken, Whitehall, Dublin 9, read by Pat Kinevane and broadcast on Wednesday 27 June 2012Listen

· Portrait by Justin MacCarthy, Sandymount, Dublin 4, read by Cathy Belton and broadcast on Thursday 28 June 2012 Listen

· Omissions by Wayne O’Keeffe, Butlerstown, Co Waterford, read by Jonathan White and broadcast on Friday 29 June 2012 Listen

· Remembering the Big Field by Bill Coen, read by Pat Laffan and broadcast on Monday 2 July 2012Listen

· You by Nollaig Rowan, Ranelagh, Dublin 6, read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Tuesday 3 July 2012 Listen

· The Pond by Richard Cotter, Carrigaline, Co Cork, read by Pat Laffan and broadcast on Wednesday 4 July 2012Listen

· Falling is Just Flying Downwards by Ilija Cvetic, Ballinteer, Dublin 16, read by Pat Kinevane and broadcast on Thursday 5 July 2012 Listen

· Idling by Aideen Henry, Claddagh, Galway City, read by Pat Kinevane and broadcast on Friday 6 July 2012 Listen

· A Rest on the Stave by Marianne O’Rourke, Ranelagh, Dublin 6, read by Jonathan White and broadcast on Monday 9 July 2012 Listen

· Orange and Brown by Angela Finn, Stillorgan, Co Dublin, read by Barbara Bergin and broadcast on Tuesday 10 July 2012 Listen

· The Creek by Chris Connolly, Booterstown, Co Dublin, read by Hope Brown and broadcast on Wednesday 11 July 2012 Listen

· Hold The Line by Eileen Lynch, Dundalk, Co Louth, read by Joan Sheehy and broadcast on Thursday 12 July 2012 Listen

· Friend Me? by Peter McCarthy, Gardiner’s Hill, Co Cork, read by Cathy Belton and broadcast on Friday 13 July 2012 Listen

· The Praeger and The Mohican by Áine Ryan, Westport, Co Mayo, read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Monday 16 July 2012Listen

· Five Days to Polling Day by Danielle McLaughlin, Donoughmore, Co Cork, read by Caitríona Ní Mhurchú and broadcast on Tuesday 17 July 2012Listen

· Operation Glasnost by William Kennedy, Dún Laoghaire, read by Joe Taylor and broadcast on Wednesday 18 July 2012 Listen

Twitter

Facebook

Contact the Show

fmacmanusstories@rte.ie

Producer: Sarah Binchy

Broadcast Co-Ordinator: Carolyn Dempsey

Ways to Listen

Radio
Mobile
Internet
Radio Player
Podcasts
TV