Cian McCormack is an award-winning reporter. He works with Morning Ireland, News at One and the This Week programme. He won News Reporter of the Year in the PPI Radio Awards three years in a row in 2011, 2010 and 2009 for national and international stories. 

Cian has travelled extensively abroad and at home covering stories for RTÉ. He travelled to Haiti in January and June of 2010, in the aftermath of the devastating earthquake, and also covered the presidential election of Barack Obama in 2008. 

In 2012, he again covered the US Presidential Election as a reporter, but he also was the Producer / Editor for Morning Ireland's election special from Washington. 

He was also the voice of the Paralympic Games, London 2012, for Morning Ireland, bringing the achievements of the athletes to listeners every morning of the games. 

Cian's trips abroad have also brought him to Liberia in West Africa, where he interviewed the country's Nobel Peace Prize winning president Ellen Johnson-Shirleaf and covered stories in the aftermath of the country's civil war.

For Morning Ireland, Cian likes to hit the road to meet and talk to people about the issues that matter to them. He has broadcast from all over the country, taking the temperature of the nation in advance of elections, budgets and other important national events. Other series he has undertaken include: Emigration, Road Safety, Tourism and Christmas. 

His Road Safety series - which Cian did with his colleague John Murray - was awarded the Law Society's Justice Media Award for National Radio in 2006. 

Cian also works as a video journalist. He shoots, edits and produces stories for RTE's Television News programmes including: 6.1 News, Nationwide and Morning Edition. 

Of course, if he's not hunting stories, he'll probably be out for a surf, a run, a swim or doing a triathlon. He loves the waves, but complains they're all on the west coast and not in Dublin.

Cian's other awards included the bronze award for News Reporter of the Year prize in the 2012 PPI Radio Awards, and a certificate of merit at the Law Society's Justice Media Awards in the same year.