After receiving close to 2,700 entries, judging is underway in the RTÉ Short Story Competition 2021 in honour of Francis MacManus. Successful shortlisted writers will be announced in September.

Writers had until Friday 7th May to submit their short story to the competition, which is currently being shortlisted by this year's judges, writers Lisa McInerney, Declan Hughes and Lucy Caldwell.


A shortlist of ten stories will be announced in September, and the top prize-winners will be announced on an Arena special programme on RTÉ Radio 1 some weeks later. All 10 stories will be produced for radio, voiced by some of Ireland's most talented actors, including Ingrid Craigie, Ali White, Kathy Rose O’Brien, Ronan Leahy and Aaron Monaghan.

Series producer Sarah Binchy says: "Once again, we’ve had a very positive response to the competition. It aims to discover some of the best new Irish fiction writing for radio each year and we have received some wonderful stories from talented writers across the country, and beyond. Thanks to all of you who took time to send us your stories. It’s now over to our esteemed judges who have the difficult task of selecting their shortlist of 10, which we’ll announce in September."

The overall winner will receive €3,000, while €2,000 and €1,000 will be awarded to the second and third place prize winners respectively. A further seven runners-up will receive €250 each, and all 10 shortlisted stories will be published on and broadcast in a season of new writing on RTÉ Radio 1 in the autumn.

Set up in 1986 to honour writer and broadcaster Francis MacManus, the RTÉ Short Story Competition has been a critically important launch pad for new and emerging writers in Ireland. Past winners and shortlisted writers include Claire Keegan, Danielle McLaughlin, Anthony Glavin, Chris Binchy, Nuala O’Connor, Liz Nugent, Colin Walsh, Stephen Walsh and Sarah Gilmartin.

To find out more about the competition, to read and listen to past winning stories, and to look out for news of the shortlist, see