Six towns across the country have been announced to pilot a new scheme aimed at revitalising rural areas.

Under the plan, announced by Minister for Rural and Community Development Michael Ring, the towns will be allocated €100,000 in funding to identify issues and challenges in their areas and to develop blueprints that can be implemented.

The work will be carried out in conjunction with local authorities.

Minister for Rural and Community Development Michael Ring (2nd Left) at the launch

Ballinrobe in Co Mayo, Boyle in Co Roscommon and Callan in Co Kilkenny along with Banagher in Co Offaly, Castleblayney in Co Monaghan and Cappoquin in Co Waterford are the locations that have been chosen to pilot the scheme.

The plan is designed to improve the services and infrastructure and to encourage people to live in rural towns.

The scheme is being funded as part of the Government’s €1 billion Rural Regeneration Fund.