Five senators have been selected to sit on the new Oireachtas Committee on Assisted Dying.

They are - Independents Lynn Ruane and Rónán Mullen; Labour's Annie Hoey; Fianna Fáil's Fiona O’Loughlin; and Fine Gael's Mary Seery Kearney.

Six nominations had gone before the Seanad Committee of Selection, however Green Senator Pauline O'Reilly withdrew her name.

The Dáil has already chosen its members for the committee.

The Government has nominated five TDs to participate: Patrick Costello of the Green Party; Alan Farrell and Emer Higgins of Fine Gael; and John Lahart and Robert Troy of Fianna Fáil.

Sinn Féin's Sorca Clarke and Pa Daly had already been nominated, as had Gino Kenny of People Before Profit.

The chair of the committee will be Independent TD for Kerry Michael Healy-Rae.

The committee will examine the contentious issue of whether assisted dying should be introduced in Ireland.

The committee will be tasked to carry out an in-depth study of the issues and it can recommend legislative changes.

Specifically, it will explore how assisted dying might operate in Ireland and examine what safeguards would need to be put in place.

Politicians will look too at the constitutional, legal, and ethical issues involved and will seek to identify any possible unintended consequences.

The terms of reference state that the committee will consider all "relevant considerations arising from the provision of a statutory right to provide assistance to a person to end their life and the statutory right to receive such assistance".

It will aim to complete its work within nine months of its first public meeting - which could happen next month.

Read more
Why we need to have a conversation about assisted dying