Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, has told the Dáil that four by-elections will be held on Friday 29 November, and the writ will be moved the week after next.

The by-elections in Dublin Fingal, Dublin Mid West, Wexford and Cork North Central arise as a result of four TDs being elected to the European Parliament earlier this year.

They are Independents Clare Daly and Mick Wallace, as well as Fine Gael's Frances Fitzgerald and Fianna Fáil's Billy Kelleher.

Mr Varadkar was replying to a question which was put by Labour's Jan O'Sullivan.