Minister for Children and Youth Affairs Katherine Zappone has announced 19 appointments to a Collaborative Forum for former residents of Mother and Baby Homes.

The membership of the forum is comprised mainly of former residents of Mother and Baby Homes but also includes advocates and family members of former residents.

The Cabinet was informed of the appointments today. Announcing the forum, the minister thanked the members for taking on "this ambitious and challenging task".

She said the fundamental principle behind the forum is that those affected by a decision have the right to be centrally involved in the decision making process.

The first meeting of the forum will take place on 26 July in Government Buildings.

The members of the forum are:

Rosemary Adaser, Conrad Bryan, Carmel Cantwell, Alice Carroll, Alice Coughlan, Kathy Finn, Mary Harney, Bernie Harold, Terri Harrison, Sidney Herdman,Mary Lawor, Susan Lohan, Samantha Long, Patrick McDonagh, Alice McEvoy, Helen McGree, Finbar O'Regan, Amanda Quigley, Paul Redmond.