The Prime Minister of Estonia says he hopes the EU will move to create a digital single market of 28 states - keeping Britain included, even after Brexit.

Juri Ratas is on an official visit to Dublin today, and is leading a delegation of Estonian business people in the digital economy and forestry sectors on a trade mission to Ireland.

Speaking to RTÉ News, Mr Ratas said: "Britain is leaving the EU but it's staying in Europe, and it's important for all our citizens, on both sides, that we find solutions."

The Estonian Presidency of the EU, which ended last month, pushed hard to advance the creation of a digital single market in the EU. It held the first digital economy summit of EU leaders in Tallinn last October.

Tallinn was also the venue for the French finance ministry to launch its proposed digital turnover tax, to try to counter what it sees as an unacceptable loss of tax revenues to national governments from the existing tax arrangements of multinational companies, a number of which - like Facebook and Google -  are headquartered in Ireland.

Mr Ratas said Ireland had been a strong supporter of moves to establish a fully fledged single market in the EU.

Earlier in a speech to the International Institue of European Affairs in Dublin Mr Ratas sumed up the Estonian presidency achievements in the digital realm, saying: "The development of cross-border services and e-commerce has real benefits for EU citizens and businesses. With common effort from member states and institutions we managed to complete vital parts of legislation on e-commerce.

"Agreement was reached on ending geo-blocking, we ensured the transparency of prices of cross-border parcel delivery and modernised value-added tax for cross-border e-commerce. We also decided that international tax rules have to be updated in a way that would ensure a fair taxation of digital economy enterprises.

"We took a huge step forward in creating a true data economy, introducing online e-services and ensuring connectivity and cyber security. The common understanding of member states on making e-government an efficiently functioning reality in Europe was confirmed in October, when the declaration on eGovernment was signed in Tallinn.

"The 5G declaration signed by the ministers of 28 member states and Norway will definitely provide the necessary boost for the development of superfast internet connections. An ambitious spectrum band policy makes superfast (5G) communication, self-driving transport, the Internet of Things and many other novelties a reality".